Verefor Publishing Company LLC

Recent Reader Reviews:

5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING BOOK -- AMAZING SHARING AUTHOR, December 21, 2010
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
T.H Waters shares with us a poignant heart wrenching story of growing up. GHELLOW ROAD really got to me. I read it in one afternoon. Every time I put it down I had to go back for more. And now I want more about Theresa, adult Theresa, college student Theresa but maybe that's getting into a normal life she doesn't want to share, but I can hope. It says novel but reads too true to be fiction. Her story is tragic and yet rewarding to see her succeed growing up against a deck stacked unusually hard. Seeing that life can be so cruel, mental illness, suicide, shuffled from place to place, Theresa is a true survivor. READ THIS BOOK. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED Thank you for sharing, T.H. Waters, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
4.0 out of 5 stars A Story Worth Sharing, December 18, 2010
groupworker (Midwest United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
Despite my fairly easy childhood, I have always been drawn to books describing children who experienced childhoods beyond what most of us could ever imagine. It was an easy read and I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book in just one night. The story is very personal, but the author writes with enough objectivity to understand the people around her. There were a few gaps in trying to understand the different roles people played in her life (and why certain relatives were nurturing at certain times and completely out of the picture at others). The author leaves the writer wanting more (in a good way) about how someone survives out in the world after living through years of unthinkable circumstances. Thanks for sharing this moving and unforgettable story. Perhaps every teacher and neighbor needs to be a little more alert to reach out to children in need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghellow Road, November 17, 2010
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
Having gone through a tragedy this year as well, I found the book inspirational and encouraging. Well spun story!Ghellow Road
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghellow Road, November 8, 2010
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
I just finished reading Ghellow Road by T H Waters. I didn't put the book down until the surprise ending. The author who is now in her 40's put a lot of energy into writing this verbally visual novel revealing problematic issues of her youth which no one should ever have encountered. Our youth is the foundation of our life; how we survive adulthood is based off those years. When you read this book, you will know the importance of a young womans father, security, acceptance, and the CIA. I look forward to reading the sequel to this book.

Twinkle twinkle little star,
How I wonder what you are
Up above the world so high
Like a diamond in the sky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


william causey All I can say is.FANTASTIC

Susan Hartman
Dec 21, 2010
Susan Hartman rated it 5 of 5 stars
This book was wonderful. The story was not of an easy life but the lessons were inspirational. The story was told in a way that grabbed you. The character had my heart and ran with it.
Daniel Hildreth gave 4 of 5 stars to:
Ghellow Road
by T.H. Waters (Goodreads Author)
read in December, 2010
my rating:
didn't like itit was okliked itreally liked itit was amazing

Daniel Hildreth Daniel Hildreth said: "I loved the book. Very creative writer. T.H. really pulled me in."

Dec 24, 2010
Kristi rated it 4 of 5 stars
Incredible book that left me wishing for more pages. Waters pulls you into her past and bravely and honestly details a difficult childhood. I finished the last page rooting for the woman she would become and hurting for the child she was. Waters tells an amazing story while never feeling sorry for herself.
5.0 out of 5 stars As A Memoir or A Novel, This is A Powerful Book!, January 12, 2011
Grady Harp (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
TH Waters blossoms as a writer in this compelling book GHELLOW ROAD. There are contradictions present: the front of the book sates 'A Novel by T.H. Waters' while the back of the book clearly states 'This is the story of my life'. True, the main character's name is Theresa Waters, and given all the statements in the front of the book thanking all those who helped bring this book to print - kudos to members of Waters' family and friends each with different names than in the book - this could be a fictionalized version of a memoir. But all of that really counts for very little - truth or fabrication - because the writing of the book is so fine that it has a life of its own!

Richard, Rainy, Mike, and Theresa Waters are a happy family unit in 1965 in Minnesota, creating the kind of jubilant childhood that commands the American dream in a Midwestern town where grandparents and other relatives count in the joy of being family. But slowly the world begins to change as Rainy, the mother, falls victim to her quiescent illness - an illness that is described by Twink (Theresa's nickname) and her older brother Mikie as Momma's 'Invisibles' - and finally requires institutionalization for schizophrenia. The children are brought up by their Dad (Richard) with occasional periods of recovery allowing Momma (Rainy) to come home, attempting to live a normal life with the aid of medications. But the illness grows more extreme and the family unit begins to disintegrate: the children are left with foster homes and relatives while the illness that has invaded their lives plays out. Their father moves them to a small town where the children attempt to fit into their peer circles, never wanting to divulge the embarrassing secret of their mother's plight. The father reaches the end of his rope, commits suicide, and the children are displaced yet again as their mother descends ever deeper into the throes of mental instability. Mikie is thrown out of the house (his future is tainted by genetics) and Theresa is farmed out during her mother's frequent hospitalizations - episodes that test her stability with her grandparents and her relatives. Throughout this period Theresa learns that she must relay on herself to survive and as she develops a stronger hold on her self esteem she gains friends and some honors and finally makes it through high school in a coming of age story that would challenge the strongest of individuals.

The book is divided into two parts - Book One is titled 'Living in the Shadow if The Invisibles' and ends with Theresa's father's suicide and Book Two is titled 'Fumbling Through the Tangles Labyrinth' - and for this reader Book One is the stronger of the two as it is a delicate investigation of mental illness and the insidious way it alters family life. Book Two is more a diary and while TH Waters has secured our attention and commitment to her characters by this point, the various episodes of Theresa's fragile life - coping with various living situations, her fear of outsiders, her manner of making friends and learning about life in the 'sane' world that includes introductions to alcohol and boys and intimacy and moments of pride and disappointment - begin to test the reader's credibility and tolerance. But again, this minor point diminishes by novel's end when Theresa finally discovers how to make life make sense. By the end of the story the author most assuredly leaves us with the hunger to discover how the later years play out: there are quiet discoveries dropped along the path through this forest of Minnesota like the little crumbs of Hansel and Gretel that plead for elucidation in another novel.

TH Waters has produced a successful book - fact or fiction - and proves that she has the gift for writing that deserves going beyond Ghellow Road into other terrain. It is as strong a young girl's Coming of Age novel as has been written. We will hear more about her. Grady Harp, January 11
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional testament to the love and strength of an astounding soul, January 13, 2011
Ace (East Coast) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
in the form of a little girl, wise and mature beyond her years, coping with first one family tragedy and then another -- from the time she as 5 years old!

Look at the design of the front cover - it says alot about what can be behind a sunny day, of a tragedy that lurks behind the joyful heart of a child, the hope of an angel's wing, and the way we (especially as children) try to make sense out of a world that is cobbled together with mismatching typefaces. The in-focus boy and girl (the author and her brother) in the out-of-focus crowd are a good focal point too!!

Now look at the credits -- in big bold letters, a generous soul is thanking and praising those (including her precious cat) who have been an inspiration, a help to her.

My mother used to say "Always be kind to whoever you meet-- you NEVER know what that person may be going through, and a kind word or a smile from you may mean all the difference in the world." How true!

Life was alternately kind and cruel, happy and confusing to Tera, her father and her brother, because of her mother's slow and circuitous slip into and out of mental illness. If it's true that we choose who are parents will be, before we are born, then God certainly sent a Very brave and wise child into that family, to bring her love, humor and wisdom while still trying to deal with the pain of rejection and tragedy, and grow up like a normal child at the same time.

In fact, even though we are a generation or two apart, if I had only had a friend, a peer my age, like Tera, I think I would have been more able to deal with my own mother's mental illness.

Tera and her brother were shuttled from one home to another, to a foster home, to grandparents, aunts, then back home. Tera's experiences are interspersed with a beautiful sense of survival, even humor -- which I can understand, having had to use my own wits at times -- and sense of humor to keep from being slapped around. She as a child has an incredible sense of observation-- almost as a detached objective person, but all the while the reader knows what pain she feels.

Adding to the pain is the sense of rejection from her brother, then her father, and then her father's tragedy. Yet Tera keeps her head above water, attending school, feeling like a loner at times, but finding and making friends and "adopting" herself into their families and reveling in the feeling of normalcy she enjoys in their midst. (Understood -- been there, also done that).

In some places, this book reminds me of "The Heart is a Lonely Hunter" with its vivid descriptions of the sense of being, the state of mind -- not only of the humans, but of the city and countryside. The description of the Fourth of July, and Rainy's countryside paradise is bewitching. The Homecoming Queen incident is precious.

Her father, Grandma, Grandpa, Aunt Mae -- the adults in her family who left an indelible mark of love, concern attention and a sense of belonging and identity on Tera -- are fleshed out warmly and beautifully in this book.

This book is a narrative, which describes yet looks beyond the pain and confusion and survival, and shows us love, determination, camaraderie, and a note tucked away in a jewelry box that embraces and gives new strength to a young woman on her way to start a new life.
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a fantastic read!, January 19, 2011
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
I was immediately drawn into this childhood memoir by T.H. Waters both as a mental health professional who works with children and as an avid reader.

She gives a voice to children whose parents suffer from mental illness and though her voice is coming from her younger self in the 60's and 70's, it resonates throughout time.

Many will read her story and hear their past and present and, more importantly, many will be able to see a future beyond their childhood years. A future that they can make into whatever they want no matter what dysfunction and tragedy they came from.

This is the author's gift to the world and those who have gone through difficult times.

Her writing style is truly moving, there were times I wished I had a highlighter to be able to go back and find things she said that were so accurate or inspirational to use with my clients. I lost a lot of sleep because of this book because I just had to keep reading and reading.

I only hope that she continues to write. I would love to see where her story goes from the end of the book and I'll be the first in line to buy it!

This book is a gift to everyone. As is the author.
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstand Debut That Will Grab Your Heartstrings!, January 29, 2011
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
Ghellow Road is a gut wrenching 290-page story that will leave the reader wanting to know more about the next chapter in author, T. H. Waters' life.

Ms. Waters writing style and fresh story line grab the reader in the first few pages, holding heartstrings tightly from beginning to end as the story of Water's tragic childhood years unfold.

This book touched me like none before it. It had me gasping at her tragic experiences, angry with those responsible for the tragedies that she was forced to endure and deeply saddened by her vivid losses and deprived beginnings.

No child deserves to have to travel through the heart crushing maze dealt to Tera. For those who loved her, thank you. For those who crushed her, may you rot in hell!

Buy this book today! It will allow you to get to know a special person who survives in spite of all odds!
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight from the heart!, January 30, 2011
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
A mothers struggle with mental illness, through the eyes of her young daughter. I am a survivor of a childhood with a violently schizophrenic parent, so reading this book brought back many memories, but made me feel I wasn't alone in my struggle. The story has many moments of an ordinary loving family, tenderness between the family members, but shows what havoc mental illness of one family member can do to the whole family unit. The story is from the heart, and can be shocking, but its the raw truth coming from a child who survived growing up with mental illness. My review cant do this book enough justice, I'm sure! I really enjoyed it, and read it in 2 nights! I felt nostalgic at some of her references to the songs and other 70s and 80s things mentioned in the book.I wonder what happened to her brother in later years and how she felt as she became older. I also found it cool we share the same name, Theresa! I have been in contact with the author, and she has encouraged me to write MY story! Shes a wonderful person!
5.0 out of 5 stars A very intense read that will reach deeply into any reader, February 7, 2011
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
Ghellow Road by debut author T. H. Waters is one of the most wrenching stories I've read in many a year. Without a doubt, Waters has a bright future as an author though I don't know how many stories on this emotional level an author can have stored in them.

Born in 1965, the second of two children, Theresa has what seemingly is a charmed life. Two parents who dote on their children, a loving mother and a fun loving father who seems to be as much a child as his children, life seems good. But below the surface lies a hidden fracture that will test Theresa's ability to cope with situations that no child should have to deal with. I don't want to create a spoiler, but trust me, you will empathize with Theresa's world and get angry and frustrated at not being able to reach into the story and help out.

T. H. Waters is a talented author writing in a somewhat lyrical style. Easily read, her story moves along and doesn't bog down at any point as it manages to hold the reader's interest. I have read novels by celebrated authors that can't stand next to Ghellow Road in intensity, story development, and interest.

This is not a story that I would probably have picked up to read on my own. However, I feel gratified that I did read Ghellow Road and may have to re-examine how I select what I read in the future.

Well done Ms. Waters.

I highly recommend.

Peace always.
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul searching, February 4, 2011
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
What a powerful read. There were times when I had to stop reading in order to catch my breath. T.H. Waters story captures the will of the human spirit in the midst of trial and tribulation. Waters story will echo with readers for a long time.
Feb 11, 2011
Dan rated it 5 of 5 stars
This is truly one remarkable book. It is told in two parts: Book 1 is about the author's parents and how she coped as a girl of seven with her mom's dreadful disease. Book 2 continues the story during the author's time in high school and ends with her turning eighteen.
The story kept me up late at night and even though it was very depressing, I couldn't put the book down because I had to find out what was going to happen next. Put this on your list to read.
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye ghellow brick road, March 19, 2011
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
Reading Ghellow Road the first question that comes to mind is, is this a novel or a memoir? The author calls it a novel, yet as you read, a level of authenticity unfolds that cannot be mere imagination or artifice, with the type of detail and feeling that can only be drawn from direct in your face experience.

I love the beauty of the lines on the back cover. 'Theresa's story begins in a large midwestern where she is born to loving parents in 1965. For a brief moment in time, her life is full, as is her heart, and the world is hers to receive without consequence.'

To receive without consequence. Love that line. Beautiful. Soon unnatural forces come into play, the 'invisibles' disrupt the family's peaceful existence, and the family fortunes threaten to be overshadowed if not brought to complete ruin by the unfolding events. Will these forces destroy her, or will she find the inner strength to survive and prevail.

Ghellow tells a compelling story of one girl's coming of age, her trials, her tribulations and her triumphs. The shunting back and forth, and through it all character emerges, and strength.

Truth is not only stranger than fiction but ultimately more compelling. Normally, I don't read novels. This was an exception. I highly recommend it. Hope this was helpful.
5.0 out of 5 stars One woman's gripping account about schizophrenia, suicide and survival., April 4, 2011
Christian Engler (Woburn, Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
Ghellow Road is a moving narrative of one woman's brave confrontation with her past and the gnawing demons of crippling mental illness that plagued her mother and thus affected the whole of her adolescent and teenage life.

At the onset, Theresa Waters had, by all accounts, an idyllic childhood that overflowed with two loving parents who had a penchant for all the offerings that life had to offer, compounded with an insatiable curiosity that would inspire any child to reach for the stars and grab life's ample opportunities with gusto and relish. But then a wrench got tossed into that idyllic life; gradually Theresa and her brother sensed that something was amiss, because those closest to them began to speak in hushed tones all the while never directly answering their genuine concerned inquisitiveness. Over time, their father opened up about their mother's health, and they frequently witnessed their mother's uncontrolled schizophrenic outbursts or sullen moody inwardness. Not fully comprehending, Theresa (out of love and when possible) would often tag along the thorny road of her mother's helter skelter delusions, yearning for the break of occasional normalcy that would every so often shine through. When it did, the family unit was fully intact and life was good and beautiful. Festivals were attended, beach outings and boat trips were aplenty and ice cream was the medicine that made life sweet and innocent. However, when the schizophrenic impulses manifested itself in her mother, the foundation of family stability slowly began to crack and loved ones played second fiddle to the unseen forces that no one could see or hear.

Pushing forward beyond the episodic moments of instability, Theresa's father did double duty for his kids, trying to be the super parent for their sake, but every human being has a breaking point, and sometimes, regrettably, that point goes to the extreme. And with no genuine outlet for what he was going through-with the exception of unfulfilled dreams and aspirations gone awry-it was up to the next generation to grab ahold of the helm, and he saw that in his two kids. He gradually lost his own identity and darkness overpowered him, and with that suffering, he chose to forever leave his burdens behind and exit the only way he knew how, by the gun. Hearing it go off, Theresa knew that her life was forever altered. Mental illness with one parent was one thing, suicide with another was simply incomprehensible. With the marrying of these two tragedies in one so young and still quite malleable it is a wonder that she and her brother were not themselves institutionalized. But they were shuffled around from foster home, to relatives and then back to their mother, who tried not to succumb to all the pitfalls that schizophrenia brings out. Creating a new reality, Theresa and her brother essentially went their own ways and forged new identities. Her brother eventually had a new life with a new family while she still remained in the vortex of yo-yo-like unpredictability. Her mother would date, dump, embrace Jesus Christ via the PTL Club and Jim and Tammy Faye Baker, forge friendships, get a job, wallow in depression, be normal, be a mother and then disappear for weeks on end. All the while, Theresa would somehow endure the oft repeated cycle of what no adolescent could imagine let alone truly experience. The only thing that was consistent in her life were the inconsistencies. The turbulence of her upbringing is what makes the story so fascinating, because the reader is also on a roller coster of emotional uncertainty with each progressing chapter.

Ultimately, stability is eventually found by way of a loving aunt. With her influence (among others) and a plethora of school friends and adventures, Theresa Waters was slowly able to navigate herself out of the dark tunnel of what statistically could have been a very tragic life. But turns funny, lively, stubborn, moving, sharp and edgy, Ghellow Road is a trenchant memoir of adolescents that evokes a little element (for me) of Ordinary People, Is There No Place On Earth For Me? and The Catcher in the Rye all merged into one. A winning debut.
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story of Resilience, March 31, 2011
L. Evans "Books & Cooks" (Ocala, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
When I was contacted about reading this book, I really had no idea what to expect. I knew that coming from the point of view of a child, it would probably be a very honest and raw interpretation of a very difficult time. What I found was so sad that I would often think of her even when I wasn't reading. Having had a wonderful childhood with two amazing parents, I couldn't imagine what her life must have been like. I'm only a year older than Theresa and while reading her story, I couldn't help but compare my life to hers. It made me even more grateful (and even a little guilty) for the years that I was allowed to be a kid and not have to worry about anything because I had the security and knowledge that my parents would take care of me. Theresa had that taken away from her and that in and of itself is heartbreaking.

The book is written somewhat like a diary, having no chapters, just breaks in the story. It moves along quickly, highlighting important times and events in her family's life.

What struck me as I kept reading was the repeated resilience of Theresa, especially in her adolescent years. Those years are difficult under the best of circumstances and for Theresa they were made even worse by her mother's odd, unstable behavior and complete lack of responsibility towards her children during her periods of absence. Theresa basically raised herself and even held down part-time jobs during summer vacations. She never gave up - just trudged on. That is impressive. It angered me that during the times when her demons were under control, Rainy put her own life first and Theresa and her brother were left to fend for themselves. I'm not even a parent and I had a hard time with that.

One of the saddest things is the divide that developed between Theresa and her brother. During a time when they should have leaned on each other, Rainy simply shipped him off and seemingly showed little emotion or concern for him again. The result of that action would come back later and rock Theresa to the core.

As I mentioned, the book ends when Theresa is eighteen and heading to college. It is amazing to me that she even made it that far without more serious damage. I think having grown up in the 70's played a big part in Theresa's ability to bounce back and take control of the next phase of her life. I don't mean to say that it made it any easier, but given everything that is out in the world today, I think there would be much more dangerous consequences. I would love to know more about Theresa's life now that she is an adult and find out if her family has healed somewhat from the pains of past.

This is an interesting and insightful book and I am very grateful to Ms. Waters for contacting me to read it and highlight it on my blog. Reading stories such as Theresa's should make the rest of the world see just how important it is to understand mental illness and the effect it has on their families. This book certainly has made me appreciate my family. I would encourage you to read GHELLOW ROAD. Even though it is a tough read, it is impressive and I promise it will linger in your mind long after you've read the last page.
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing story, highly recommend!, April 19, 2011
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
is a story told by Theresa. She tells of growing up with a mentally ill mom and a dad that tries to hold their small family together but eventually gives up. Her and her older brother are sent to a foster home, aunt & uncles, friends, whoever will take them in while her mother is in the hospital. Even though she lives a life of turmoil, she manages to have friends and finds a job and tries to live a normal life.
This little girl goes through so much and you just wish you could wrap your arms around her and tell her everything's going to be alright but she still has hopes and dreams and doesn't her family situation get her down.
A sad story that keeps you wanting to turn the page to find out what's going to happen next and I highly recommend it!

5.0 out of 5 stars Plainly Beautiful, April 28, 2011
C. Oliver (Worcester, MASSACHUSETTS United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
After receiving this book, I read through the first half quite quickly, but continued to get sidetracked here and there, but couldn't get the book from my mind. It is easily one of the more beautiful books I have read, and I have read many. It is written in a plainly spoken way, but with glimmers of fabolous prose that illuminate a great deal of wonder in the book. The story moves with the agility of an acrobat, and you're never left wanting. I can easily place this book in my top fifty list, which is pretty good, given that this usual type of book would rarely be one that I'd buy, it certainly was worth it.

The story of Theresa, is not just memorable, but literally a literary achievement in some parts. The young midwestern girl's journey through life is both an intimate portrait of a life and a truly unique expression of life. This, Ghellow Road, is one that I do not believe anyone would regret buying.

The entire book is good, but at the same time, there are dazzling moments of literary grace that meets the readers eyes with a wonderful blend of emotion that leaves you wanting for more, and yearning to know more about her life.
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Biography Young Girl Finally Able to Live Out Loud..., May 16, 2011
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)

There's no doubt that we each must walk our own life roads. For many, the roads run parallel to those walked by our family, our peers and while unique, we never learn the full story of that journey. The road traveled by T. H. Waters was not similar to ours. "Compelled to write this book based upon the unique experiences of her youth, she is grateful for the privilege of finally being able to live out loud." (p. 291)

Ghellow Road is Theresa's story, written in novel form. It flows from the time she was a child, happy with her mother and father and older brother. Her father was a teacher at a local school and spent much time with his children, sharing and exploring.

She was 5 when the first trauma occurred--finding her mother sobbing, her mother starting to withdraw from the family and their activities, spending most of her time in bed. However, when her mother needed to be hospitalized, it started a change of life for the entire family.

For a few times when her mother went to the hospital, her father's mother came to stay with them and take care that the children's life remain fairly stable. But a time came when that wasn't possible and both children were placed in foster care--the worst kind--where the parents were in it for the money and did little to actually care for the children.

Even when her mother came home, she was not the same woman. In fact, she had been diagnosed with schizophrenia and would never be the same again. "My mother...forever the delicate rose of spring, the youthful flower caught in a late, unexpected frost before she ever had the chance to unfurl her velvety petals and become the beauty she was meant to be. She remained eternally lost in the prison of her own mind...she remained eternally lost to me." (p. 263)

Fortunately for a number of years, their father was able to hold the family together. But then he lost his job, taking any job he could find to keep them going, but he also became despondent. He started spending all his time in the basement, forbidding anybody to invade the area where he said he was building a boat. Theresa one day coaxed her brother to go see the boat while their father was out. When he came back unexpectedly, Theresa childishly blamed their invasion on her brother. He was beaten horribly and soon left home, never to return.

And then Theresa's father committed suicide..."It is disturbing how the emotion from a single event, frozen in time, can conquer you so completely. It gnaws at your innards like a starved coyote, always wanting more than you have to give. We all became victims of Daddy's assault upon himself that day... A crucial piece of myself remained back in the bloody aftermath... slashing a wound that the hands of time would never be able to mend..." (P. 114)

And thereafter began a nomadic life for Theresa as she was shuffled from family to family or to friends' homes, rarely to have a location she could call her "home."

Readers will see a young woman who grew strong, yet defiant. One who was brave, yet afraid of what was going to happen next. Her story takes us through those traumatic teen years where finding and having friends to her meant the only family environments in which she was welcomed. Her mother had moved and left one grandmother behind, moving to live with and then near her parents. While her grandfather was wonderful, her new grandmother was not interested in developing a loving relationship with Theresa... And then her mother started dating and finally remarried. But that did not result in a new, loving home...

T. H. Waters writes her losses, her life, in beautiful words that compell readers to continue reading. However, this is not a heartwarming story even though there are parts that will touch your heart. This is a story of the spirit of children, of hope, of endurance... There is much you can learn from Ghellow Road if you open your heart and mind. Perhaps the most important being "to live out loud..." Highly recommended.
5.0 out of 5 stars Painful Beauty, May 18, 2011
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)

Kids love gelatin in many shaky forms, colours and even shapes. But for some, childhood itself is like walking down a road of gelatin: shaky, with nothing to hold onto. Yet the resilience and capacity of perseverance of youth are amazing. Ms. Waters reminds us of this as we walk down Ghellow Road with her.

T. H. Waters recalls childhood in a very heartrending, moving story. Her ability to recollect images from childhood is acute. The sounds, sights, and smells of Ghellow Road are clear and vivid. It brought to mind scenes and images from my own childhood.

Children should be able to count on the security and safety offered by parents. Our narrator, Theresa, does not have that. As she grows, she is forced to learn to count on others and ultimately herself. She must learn to trust her own judgment regarding life.

Childhood shapes us, but it does not have to define us. We never get over it, but we do get through it. Theresa not only survives... she triumphs. T.H. Waters' book broke my heart, but then gently pieced it back together. It is a painfully beautiful story of what love does to us and what it makes us.
5.0 out of 5 stars An awe inspiring memoir, May 23, 2011
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
I have a fondness of memoirs. I have read some that have been pretty raw and gritty, heart-breaking and mind boggling....but....I have never read one quite like Ghellow Road. Others have skimmed the surface, where Ghellow Road digs deep down into itself, and fleshes out the story of the life of Theresa Waters and her troubled family when she was a teenager, during the 70's and 80's.

She was a happy-go-lucky child, who was a "Daddy's Girl" and enjoyed living and growing up in her hometown of Minneapolis, MN. Her mother always seemed to be floating adrift in her moods, and became depressed easily. Her father was more grounded, and Theresa and her older brother looked to him for guidance and support.

When her father is suddenly gone, Theresa and her brother are thrown head-first into their mother's world of depression and schizophrenia. They are shuffled about, sent to live in foster homes, all the while wondering what they had done wrong, and why didn't their mother want them?

As time progressed, Theresa would shuffle back and forth between her mother's home, and relatives' homes. She was a teenager, and just wanted to fit it, have friends, have a boyfriend. My heart broke for her, especially when a boy she had a crush on hurt her feelings openly. It brought back many memories of MY own junior high school days. She and I shared similar junior high experiences.

Throughout the story, I held my breath, wondering when and if things were ever going to settle down for Theresa. Would she have a secure home? Would her mom get treated for her mental illness and be a real mother to her? Would she ever feel accepted? I yearned for "normal-ness" for her.

Ghellow Road is a painful and honest account of Theresa's life, and I applaud her for being able to pen her story for the world to read. To quote her, I admire her for being able to finally "Live Out Loud".
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking, yet heartwarming, June 16, 2011
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
Theresa had a very unique childhood. The first few years seemed picture perfect, until Mommy started having some troubles. Mommy was in and out of hospitals a lot, and the strain took its toll on the family. Bit by bit the picture perfect life unraveled, and by the time Theresa was in high school, her life and family was nothing like it was just a few years before. Yet thanks to the influence of caring adults and supporting friends, Theresa finds a way to move forward and prosper.

Once again, I find myself asking why there are not more books like this out there? Mental illnesses affect more that just the person diagnosed, and this book is a perfect example of how. This is a story that is both heartbreaking and heartwarming.

Waters bravely talks about her life in a way that really lets the readers see the unfolding of events. In the beginning, you can not even tell anything is wrong. By the end, you are amazed anything is right. Bravo to Waters for baring her soul, and painting an honest picture of what life is like for the child of a schizophrenic. I love the fact that we get to see Theresa's anger at her mother, and the mother's apparent lack of understanding as to why she might be angry.

This is a book that can provide such hope to children dealing with mental illness within their family system. I think this would be a great book for therapists to recommend to young adults with mentally ill parents, to help show them that even when they do not look like a happy tv sitcom family, they can still live happy, meaningful lives. I have the utmost respect for Waters, for sharing her story and empowering so many others to hopefully do the same.
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book....WOW!!!, May 31, 2011
L. Peters "Lisa" (Austin, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
This book is well written, it keeps you reading even when you have other things to do. The story captivated me from the very beginning and I was pulled in completely. The authors' writing has an amazing flow that keeps you from putting it down. I cried, I laughed, my heart broke for Theresa and I wanted nothing more than for her mother to get better and start caring for her family, even though I knew that wasn't going to happen.

In college and right after wards, I worked with the mentally Ill. My husband and I managed apartments for those well enough to live on their own with a bit of supervision. We would look out the window and see a group of six or more smoking while sitting around the picnic table. They were all talking and caring on long conversations, yet none of them were conversing with each other only with the voices in their own heads. Their stories were varied as they were, but they all broke my heart. Being cured was not an option, only the hope that the new medicine would work longer then the last one.

I loved this book and the author did an amazing job of putting you into her life. I wanted her to be happy, I wanted her family to be whole again and I wanted her to know that she was loved. Her mother loved her; she just could not get healthy enough to show it very often. Beautifully written, moving and something I will be thinking about for awhile to come.

Maybe you don't like stories about the mentally ill, but this is one everyone should read. It is not their fault, it is an illness that has no cure only medications that can ease the symptoms for awhile. Hearing voices has got to be one of the most difficult thing for them, how do you ignore something that is screaming in your head?

Everyone should read this book. You will find a new way of seeing mental illness, those that suffer from it and the families and friends who love them. I loved this book, and I thank the author for sending it. As with all my reviews I have received no compensation and I do not know the author.
5.0 out of 5 stars A riveting page-turner, July 7, 2011
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
When Theresa was born, her parents simply adored her. She has an other brother, Mikie, and her life is pretty awesome. But then something happens - her mom becomes sick and Grandma has to step in and help out while mom is at the hospital. Her mother becomes sick quite frequently and has to stay in a hospital, and Theresa's dad does the best he knows how to be both a mom and dad to his children. The kids think their dad is pretty awesome.

But when mom starts talking to demons, she goes away for a long time. Dad can't take care of them so they have to go to a temporary foster home. Theresa and Mikie are overjoyed when they get to go back home. Their mom seems to be better and life is good again. But then dad loses his job and life spirals out of control once again.

When tragedy strikes, they move to a small town in Minnesota. They move into a tiny house, the home of Teresa and Mikie's grandparents. Mom gets a job but the demons still call to her. Her disease in her mind takes it toll on the family and Mikie moves out. Theresa tries to find a place to fit in, making new friends and trying new things. But before long, Mom has a new boyfriend and Theresa is placed with aunts and uncles. This goes on for years. But Theresa is determined to survive, not matter what.

Ghellow Road is a riveting page-turner. My heart just ached for Theresa and Mikie for their circumstance and for what their mother put them through. Watching her navigate through the ups and downs of growing up brought back some memories but also made me sit on the edge-of-my-seat to see how Theresa would fair. The writing draws you in and doesn't let go until the final pages. I found myself immersed in this world and just wish I could give Theresa a big hug. I loved this novel and highly recommend it!!
4.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt and Real, July 26, 2011
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
The story takes place in Minneapolis and International Falls, Minnesota.

I wasn't sure what to expect when I began this book, and I really kept my expectations low. However I found myself pleasantly surprised with the genuineness and honest humor used to share the author's story.

This story really hit home for me. Growing up, my best friend spent several years living in much the same way as the author, and I was the stable friend in her life.

While the circumstances may have differed, I could certainly identify with the feelings surrounding many of the situations the author dealt with as a kid. I came from a pretty stable home, but my best friend had a mother who mentally checked out for awhile, had two-way conversations with Jesus and Moses, and eventually was institutionalized. I've seen some of the behavior described in the book firsthand, and have sat and cried with my friend as we were separated from one another when she had to go live with other family members. I'm all too familiar with The Invisibles mentioned in the book, and remember the chills of listening to my friend's mother carry on conversations with her own invisible visitors.

The author's description of herself as a kid, and the way that she covered up her pain with a put-on bubbly personality, is even reminiscent of my friend, as well as the explosive way she would speak to her mother in anger, pain, frustration, embarrassment and helplessness.

I was really impressed with the author's writing style, as it far-exceeded my expectations. I found it engaging and effective, easy-to-read and unpretentious.

Happily, you are left in the end with hope and promise for the future of the author following a childhood of turmoil.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this memoir to anyone. Fresh, heartfelt and sincere, I embraced this story wholeheartedly.
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad and compelling, July 23, 2011
Kim (Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
This book is a sad and compelling look into the dysfunctional life Theresa lived growing up with a mother who is a schizophrenic. Her loving and active mother, Rainy, becomes someone Theresa no longer recognizes. As a child, Theresa does not understand mental illness and is often terrified of her mother's actions. Theresa's mother is hospitalized several times for schizophrenic episodes. The first few times, her grandmother was able to stay at their house to care for Theresa and her brother, Mikie. For unknown reasons, the children are sent to a foster home during one of their mother's hospital stays.

Theresa's father has always been a rock for the kids and tries to keep their lives as normal as possible, despite their mother's mental illness. Unfortunately, after losing his job, he becomes unable to cope and becomes very depressed. Though she is very young, Theresa is able to notice the changes in her father. One tragic evening, her father commits suicide, and Theresa loses any chance of living a normal childhood.

Her mother moves them to her hometown to stay with her parents until they can get on their feet. Theresa has never met her maternal grandparents and is devastated to leave her beloved grandmother behind along with the only life she has ever known. Everything in her life has changed which is very traumatic to a small child.

It was interesting and sad to read about the stages her mother went through trying to deal with her illness. She would seem to do fine for a short while and then everything would crash down and life would become too hard for her to deal with and she would shut down. Not long after moving into the first place of their own since her father's death, Theresa's brother runs away to live with another family and never returns. Their connection to each other is forever broken.

As the book progressed, Rainy's delusions and ability to rationalize seem to become worse with each episode. For example, she purchases an ant farm as a gift for a graduating family member without the understanding that it is an inappropriate gift, despite Theresa trying to intercede.

Through all of this, Theresa seems to understandably be untrusting. She has been constantly sent to live with others when her mother did not feel like dealing with her or was unable to. In the end, she comes to live at her beloved Aunt Mae's house where she is provided a place of love and stability. My heart truly broke for this little girl who was robbed of her childhood.

T.H. Waters did an excellent job of detailing the experiences through the eyes of a child. And going through your teen years is hard enough without having to try to hide your mother's mental illness. Theresa seems to persevere despite having the deck stacked against her and I found myself rooting for her throughout the book.

I thought the book was excellent with an easy to read style of writing. It should be considered necessary reading for anyone with the need to understand what it is like to live with someone suffering a mental illness.

I'd highly recommend!
's review
Sep 08, 11

5 of 5 stars
Read from September 05 to 06, 2011

Wow, what a book! I am truly sorry to have to put this one down. What a truly compelling story, from beginning to end.

The author, I infer, is telling the story of her childhood and it is one filled with sadness, loneliness, and hardship - but she eventually rises above it all. This is a story that you fall into from the very beginning in their small modest house in what ended up being the most normal part of Theresa's childhood. You end with her entering the world after ten years of uncertainty and instability.

I cannot even imagine how it must have felt to feel so unwanted and to be juggled about with no inclination where you might end up next, and in the most formative years of a person's life.

The author has a really great writing style, and even though the book jumped around in time, it was easy to follow and didn't leave and gaps for readers. I simply couldn't put it down and it kept me on the edge of my seat wondering what would become of someone who was given so many opportunities to be a failure...but didn't.

The characters were all painted perfectly and you really gained a clear picture of how this family became so disjointed.

I heartily recommend this book, you will not be disappointed.
's review
Sep 18, 11

5 of 5 stars
Read in September, 2011

A must read for those whom have experienced mental illness, whether personally or professionally.

Ghellow Road was much more than I expected, and it left my heart completely weeping for Waters. Mental illness is like a cruel joker, creeping up on happy and healthy individuals and their families, then pulling the rug right out from under them. My heart went out to Waters after the suicide of her father, as he seemed not able to cope any longer with his wife's illness. I don't believe Richard loved his children any less, even after he started to pull away from them or by taking his own life. Richard seemed like he was an amazing father, who wanted to be the perfect husband. I believe Richard was a caring, compassionate, loving soul who felt helpless and fell into a deep depression, when it finally sunk in that his wife would never be the same again. Richard seemed to have loved his wife deeply and couldn't picture his life without his wife, the women he first met, before Schizophrenia took her away. As Waters narrates her story, you can certainly sense when her father lost interest in his children and in his life, in general. Shutting himself off from the world, a coping mechanism commonly used by those with depression, that can backfire. It is a fact that men are more likely to take their own lives when depressed, and not seek help. He probably had no idea, he was even depressed and needed help. The work Richard did in his basement, focusing all his attention on one thing before his death, were his last feeble attempts at trying to feel alive, find meaning and seeking happiness in his life.

I believe Waters is blessed in many ways, some of which includes, the strength she used to keep herself going throughout her traumatic life and the gift of writing, that allows her to share her traumatic past with others. As by sharing her story, she has certainly touched my heart, while also giving me hope. The hope that even though we may be hurt and our hearts shattered by those with mental illness, we can still love them in the end. We may have no control over the type of family we are born into, but we certainly have control over refusing to let those with mental illness suck us up into their vacuum of madness. Waters did the best she could, given her circumstances, to live out her life in peace and happiness. Staying away from her mother Rainy and later her brother, when they were not in their right mind, was crucial to her survival and her own mental state. I also believe even in her madness, Rainy tried to protect her daughter, the only way she knew how, hence the reasons for pushing Theresa away, at those times in her life, when she felt another episode coming on. Waters was given these trials and tribulations in her life for a reason, she was also given the tools she needed, those of which include strength and the intelligence to overcome these obstacles, and she used those tools wisely. A little secret her father knew about her, which is why he left her the message he did upon his death. We are all born for a purpose, most have no idea what that may be, and while seeking continue headed in the wrong direction. Whether that correct path may include helping, healing or just being there, it always involves other lives, and other souls similar to our own. Waters has truly found her purpose, by sharing her painful past in this novel, Ghellow Road. My hope is that Waters continues to write other novels. As Waters is a gifted writer, who's words run fluidly on the pages, keeping the reader suspended in time and space. I also feel Waters has so much more to tell, even if she were to encase those secrets within fiction, she will help many more lost souls on this road we call life.

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Ghellow Road by T.H Waters

This memoir will stay in my mind and heart for a long time. I read it quickly, I wanted to know, needed to know, that Theresa was going to make it, that she was going to be ok. Shuttled from one family to the next throughout a childhood blighted by her parents mental illness, the author shows that even with the worst circumstances, it is possible to not only survive that kind of childhood but to mature and thrive into adulthood.

Theresa's style of writing was quite disarming. It was an honest and raw account of her formative years and was often very matter of fact, frequently appearing as if she were an outsider looking in at her own life. I guess growing up distancing ones self from the situation at hand was all part of the 'survival mode'. Memoirs like this are so hard for me to read in many ways, because you know that they are not a figment of someone's imagination, that this is someones life, the author actually lived this. It makes the story even more heartbreaking but at the same time uplifting because here she is today, a college graduate with a published memoir!
Theresa's story reminds me that we never truly know the struggles that people we come into contact daily with have. We interact with people around us, taking their outward appearance at face value, but so many are struggling with issues that we never would guess at when they close their front door. It makes me hope that I can remember to be a little kinder to those I meet in my day to day life, because who knows what they are dealing with at home and how far a kind word from a stranger may go into brightening their day.

This book will most certainly rank up there in my top 10 favorite books of the year and I can highly recommend it. For those with a 'normal' life, it will make you want to go hug your kids a little tighter, for those who struggle with a serious mental illness, or who are close to someone that does, you will find a lot to relate to here.

PS. When I received the copy of this book, the author took the time to write me a  little note expressing her thanks and appreciation for taking a look at her book, she even wrote a little anecdote about her paternal grandmother. I just wanted to mention that because it was so sweet and made my day and more evidence that she turned out awesome!

Monday, November 21, 2011

Ghellow Road: A Novel by T.H. Waters

About Book:

Ghellow Road is a literary diary of a young girl's journey through the tangled labyrinth that is her life. Theresa's story begins in a large midwestern city where she is born to loving parents in 1965. For a brief moment in time, her life is full, as is her heart, and the world is hers to receive without consequence. As times passes and Theresa grows, supernatural forces begin to shape her existence, no matter how carefully her father colors the empty spaces of her world. After a series of tragic events, Theresa and her family seek refuge in a small Minnesota town nestled near the shores of Rainy Lake. She creates a new life for herself there, sharing adventures with friends and riding the ups and downs of adolescence. Yet through it all, her mother remains forever lost in the prison of her own mind and forever lost to Theresa. The young girl feels as though she is leading a double life, one that no one else could possibly understand. She begins to peer at the world as if looking through a thick, black veil, never certain which pieces are illusion and which are not. Through the kindness and support of the townspeople, she eventually summons the strength to survive. This is a story of tragedy and triumph. This is the story of my life...

My Thoughts:

Truthfully when I was given the opportunity to read Ghellow Road I wasn’t really sure what to expect. However, I am so happy I read this amazing memoir about a childhood filled with pain and struggle. It truly captivated me from the start and I could not put it down - in fact, I read it all in one sitting on a rainy Saturday.

What we have is a story about a family that becomes fractured and completely broken as a result of the mother's battle with mental illness, specifically schizophrenia. The mother is terribly depressed and often talks to the voices that only she can hear - incidents that Theresa is witness to at such an early age. Of course, being so young, Theresa is unable to understand why it is that her mother is home one day and gone the next. Instead she must deal with being shuffled around to different homes, without a parent to watch over her. Her father is so lost and unable to handle his wife's mental illness. And her brother leaves home as soon as he can and doesn't look back - he doesn't want to deal with the fact that his relationship with his mother is nonexistent.

It’s really rather heartbreaking having to read how alone these children were and the ways in which they had to fend for themselves. Reading about Theresa managing childhood and the angst-ridden teen-aged years is sad and riveting. The ups and downs that life throws her way makes you wonder how Theresa will turn out - will she be a victim of a broken home or will she be an exception and grow up to be a strong and independent woman capable of tackling the world? The answer is that you will be happily surprised and amazed at the positive direction that Theresa manages to steer her life. Thanks to some dear friends and members of her community, Theresa is able to finally get some help and support, which truly do make a difference in her life. Not only does she realize that there are good people and experiences out there in the world, but that there are people who care about her. Plus, Theresa envisions a future for herself, which I believe is the biggest success of all.

Well written, compelling and very character-driven, Ghellow Road is a memorable book that will leave you feeling sad and happy. Though heartbreaking to read at times, you will enjoy the few happy moments that Theresa recalls, along with the ending where she finds herself heading toward her future. Broken up into two books, “Living in the Shadow of The Invisibles” and " Fumbling through the Tangled Labyrinth”, this story does not contain any chapters and simply flows from one memory to the next. You can get a sense of how Theresa is remembering her childhood and teen-aged years. Definitely a good read! I would recommend this book to anyone interested in memoirs, books on family dysfunction and stories that involve mental illness, specifically schizophrenia. This is one book that I will not soon forget.

I want to thank T. H. Waters for providing me with a copy of this great book - it was engaging and emotional and completely captivating!
Jennifer Alexander
The story is the tale of a woman recalling her childhood growing up in a home filled with love and turmoil. It is a story of how the woman manages to come of age like all of us, but in a home that is overtaken by mental illness. The story takes you in from the first page and you really feel part of Theresa's world. You feel the hope of the young girl, like when she is trying to win a radio contest so that she can send her mother to Lourdes to make her better, just because she has heard her mother wish to go to this unknown place where miracle's happen. You can feel the teen angst that everyone has and see just how strong she is to make it through after all she goes through at home at the same time. I loved the initial innocence of a young girl trying to figure out why her mother had to leave home for months at a time, even though the reader ... like all the other adults in the story ... clearly understand the reason behind the absences. The flow of writing was so perfect for the flow of the story that it was able to progress seamlessly.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys coming-of-age stories or books dealing with the hardships of living with those you love who suffer from mental illnesses.

I also recommend this to ANYONE looking for a good heartfelt story!
Book Review By MamaLuvsBooks: I just finished reading "Ghellow Road" by, T.H. Waters. I am personally a HUGE fan of biographies! I read True Crime novels, biographies, and watch Lifetime Movie Network True Stories ALL THE TIME! This book was definitely the kind of novel I enjoy reading. Not only was it a personal coming-of-age story, but it was also very well-written. The author had a beautiful way about describing things throughout the book, as well as revealing her most inner thoughts and emotions. You very much get attached to the main character Theresa (who happens to be the author). You constantly want to find out what happens next, and I would actually be interested in reading a follow-up book to learn what happened to her in college and beyond.

The story itself takes the reader through the a journey of the author's life. It shows the impact a mental illness can have on all members of a family and how even in awful circumstances one can overcome all with strength and will for life. It shows how someone can proceed with a fulfilled life if they have a desire to, even with enduring tragic events and an unsettled daily lifestyle. You MUST read this story to see what I am talking about. You will be sucked in too!


1.  It is very well-written and descriptive.
2.  It has short chapters that makes you KEEP on reading!
3.  The character development is great because you feel for the characters and care about them.
4.  It leaves you wanting to know more and read more.
5.  It gives a great inside look at families that deal with mental illnesses.
6.  It shows that one can overcome almost anything and strive to be the best they can!
7. It is a biography that is written as more a fictional novel than just a fact-telling essay.

's review
Jan 21, 12

5 of 5 stars
bookshelves: coming-of-age, literary-fiction
Read from January 07 to 15, 2012

This is the story of Theresa, a young girl growing up in lower middle class America. The book follows her life as she struggles to over come many problems.
Her mother is mentally ill, and her father breaks under the strain of dealing with it all. Leaving poor Theresa and her brother to batter the storm. The book is heartbreaking. I felt so bad for little Theresa. At times wanting to pull her from the pages and just hold her. I loved that she rose above it all and had the strength to keep going. Slogging through all the emotional muck and mire to finally pull herself out.
I also feel that Ms Water's is a very brave woman to bare her soul and write such a personal book.
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm taking the Ghellow Road, March 18, 2012
Melissa Lawler (Rapid City, SD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
I have to tell you that I really enjoyed reading this book. We are close to the same age so this brought back a lot of memories for me. The book is well written and I would lose myself in it. I was sad when it ended. I know what it's like to grow up with a mentally ill parent. Unlike Theresa, I never got a break because they never sent my parent away. It is odd when you visit a "normal" household. You become envious of your friend's families. Anyway...Read it! I think you will enjoy reading Ghellow Road.
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant Book, January 27, 2012
Emily (IN, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
Poignant is the only word to describe this book. The family's struggles are heart-wrenching and so real that you feel terrible while reading the book, but, at the same time, liberated for having been a part of the journey. This book is well-written and easy-to-read, but is not a 'sit down and finish in one setting' sort of book. I don't recommend it for the beach or for an airplane. It's more of a 'read three books at once' sort of book. You need time to process what you've read as you go along.
4.0 out of 5 stars Emotional, captivating, and inspirational, April 16, 2012
This review is from: Ghellow Road (Paperback)
I hate to start off saying this story is sad, because I know that's not the author's purpose. However there was so much to the story that was just sad. I cried a few times while reading it. There were quite a few high points in the story also, it's just that while I was reading this book I was in a mind frame that made me connect so much more with the sad stuff.

Despite the fact that it made me cry I do have to say that I really liked this book. It was very well written and I connected instantly with Theresa. I felt all the emotions she was experiencing throughout the book. Knowing that this was a biographical story absolutely gave me a more intimate connection to the story. But I do feel that even if it wasn't a true story I would still have had the same connections to the story. It was so well written that I could easily get lost in the story.

Whenever I read a true story, or a story based on the author's life I find myself wondering how the author can so freely open themselves up like that. There are some things that happen in this book that had they happened to me I don't know that I would be able to share them for the world to see. I think that takes an extreme amount of bravery and courage to just lay it all out there for the world to scrutinize. But I'm glad that there are people like T.H. Waters that will take us along with them through their lives. So in closing I just have to say thank you to T.H. Waters for allowing me to lose myself in the story of your life. It was emotional, captivating, and inspirational!
Lorraine Moriarty
I was fortunate enough to be a First Reads winner of Ghellow Road! What a fantastic read, I would highly recommend this book/author and have become a tremendous fan of T.H.Waters!
Her ability to share such a personal experience as her own life, in such a way that I feel almost a kindred spirit to her and some of the life events shared. I found myself remembering events of my own struggles with growing pains and enjoying the pictures painted by her story.
The author also shone a light on subjects rarely discussed from a child's point of view and I feel it necessary to thank her for the opportunity of the glimpse of sorrows and joys she lived through.
I will not share details of her story, but will encourage teens through adults to pick up a copy and snuggle down for an evening with this story!